From Farm to Chic

26 Aug

This weekend I checked out the fab dollar pile sale at my local thrift store, Jet Rag.  I scored some great pieces, but as you might expect for only a dollar, none of them are quite ready-to-wear.  One of my favorites was this little house on the prairie dress in the trending gingham cotton print.  The dress was far too big, but it certainly had potential!

I'm off to work on the farm, Auntie Em

It took just a few simple alterations to get this dress out of the hen house!  First, I tried the dress on and pinned up the sleeves and hem to the length I wanted them to be. Then, I trimmed off the excess fabric, stitched up the hems and paired with a vintage belt and voila, this dollar find is ready to hit the town!

From farm to chic!

This dress looks pretty similar to J. Crews’ version below, except theirs retails for $88!

J Crew's $88 version from stylehive.com

Leave a Reply

